top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuby

Uxbridge College Work

Updated: Mar 24, 2020


These are photos of my exhibition, while I was studying at Uxbridge College. I put this here as I would like to explore using the artist influences, experimenting with the scale and the use of materials; repetition in-depth; as I want to explore into my future professional studio practice. My work celebrates both the physical and emotional journey I have undertaken throughout my life. At the age of five, I was diagnosed was a speech and language impairment which affected my confidence. I was a very isolated child. Through the ongoing help and support of a charity called Contact a Family as I grew into a strong, independent and confident individual. The work presented here explores both my journey as an individual and the memories of confidence-building day trips into London organised by Contact a Family. Using a variety of printmaking, processes as a vehicle to communicate these memories, my work utilises both scale and layering to convey these repeated experiences and the impact they had on my life. Taking inspiration from both Idris Khan and Stephanie Jung, I have layered images of London to reflect these multiple experiences and the value they have had in my life. Often, my memories of these trips are focused through the strick and regimented format of the Coach window, mirroring the photography of Luis Gispert. The colour red is dominant throughout my images, representing both me as a strong and confident individual and the colour found in the logo of ‘Contact a Family’. Like the 2014 Turner Prize work of Ciara Phillips, I have attempted to create an environment that overpowers you. The work dominates the wall space initially reflecting confused and overwhelming memories, a jumbled mess of sights. However, as my journey continued, and my confidence grew, these memories became refined, focused and confident.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page