top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuby

Diversity of London

Updated: Mar 25, 2020


These images are photographic prints. I have experimented with using the photographic technique. These photographic prints gave me a guideline on how it will look when it comes to developing into a screenprint in depth. These are showing the repetition of my journeys around London during my melancholic past. This is also showing my working process before I do it on the actual roll of paper. For my future practice, I still would like to explore using this technique.


During the beginning of the second year at University, I had developed a plan to produce five rolls of screenprints. Each roll was 10 metres long. It took me three months to complete for my solo show. I curated the show independently in a set time frame deadline. I have been influenced by William Morris's repetitious technique. The first image shown is a roll of screen prints displayed in my practising studio space. I have primarily shown the repetition of my journeys around London during my melancholic past. Before my exhibition, I had experimented installing one of my rolls in the corridor to get a feel of the installation and present, experiment and display my work in various ways. I would also explore more in-depth in my future professional studio practice.


This work is from my first year at University. This is a photogram. To do this photogram, I had to use acetate onto a projection of light. For this photogram, it was my first attempt in practice. I used one of my screen prints from acetate and within this form of developing a new skill and process to experiment with the differences of techniques that can be created in the darkroom workshop. Although this was my first attempt, I was happy with the outcomes. For the future, I would consider expanding more ideas by exploring and experiencing in the darkroom.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page