top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuby

Cultural Patterns

Updated: Mar 25, 2020



These works are from while I was studying at Uxbridge College. These photos presented are from the exhibition. The exhibition was displayed at Hayes, Hyatt Place. This work was titled inheritance. This work explores the inherited cultures of Southall. This is a mixed media collage using abstraction to convey the rich diversity of Southall life. I have incorporated the influences of Fiona Rae. The work celebrates the colours, the smells, energy and vibrancy found every day on the streets of London’s most exciting boroughs. This work contains a variety of experimentation of materials taken from the experiences of my life in Southall. As I am a North-West Londoner, I have been raised in Southall from my entire life where I experience the culture and vibrancy every day during my life. I would, like to explore during my future professional studio practice. This work contains lentils, Mung beans, turmeric powder, pepper, salt and acrylic paints on canvas. These materials represent the characteristics and context of Southall. In this mixed media collage, I have specified the local area and want the viewer to feel the vibrant atmosphere by imagining themselves being in Southall by experiencing the smells, the herbs and spice by feeling the vibrant colours and cultures combined within. From looking at this my work, I would like to apply the use of repetition in my future development of works.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page