top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuby

Artist Influence - Stephen Wiltshire


The name of this artwork is called St Paul's Cathedral. It was made in 2017. The size of this work is 297 x 210 mm. I like the detailed drawing of the London City drawn in depth. Stephen Wiltshire is a fine artist that explores into drawing and painting cityscapes all of over the globe. He is inspired by photorealist painter Richard Estes. He learnt to speak at the age of nine. His first words were paper and pencil. He listens to the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90’s music as he paints and draws. He uses Staedtler pens and ink for drawings. His inspiration is a motto and is influenced by this quote "Do the best you can and never stop". His quote is a true inspiration to me as an individual who has experienced a lot but never stopped and but kept going. I researched Stephen Wiltshire because I have something in common with his experiences of drawing, speaking, music and also is quote stands out personally to me. For ideas for my future studio practice, I would consider recording journeys of London by producing observational drawings. I could also explore with mono-printing as its another drawing principle.


44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page